Home Forums Everything about the Mini Tricopter A Question for All Mini Tricopter Pilots…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

Hello everyone,

After building, tuning and flying a few copters from scratch, I am hoping to purchase my first “real” multirotor. I am currently looking at David’s Mini Tricopter kit vs. some 210-size miniquad frames (5″ props). My question is specifically for pilots who have a Mini Tricopter: can it perform crisp aerobatics and perform as well as a quad in handling sharp turns and tight flips and rolls?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I hope to have a copter built to fly by 2017!

Thanks.

By “crisp aerobatics” I mean maneuvers like those in this video:

I understand that it depends a lot on the pilot and the PIDs, among other things, but I want to know if the Mini Tricopter can physically perform such maneuvers and how much more/less difficult they would be to perform on a quad.

GAntonjo

Not being a skilled FPV pilot, I cannot tell you “Sure it can”. However, I have flown my miniTri (with stock V1 motors, V1 ESCs and F3FC Frame) with TriFlight 0.5,recommended PIDs and successful tail tunes enough times to tell you it is a very capable machine. You can fly it smoothly and slowly if you like and you can punch out all you like. Last few times I flew it inside a mountain hall used for handball and such sports. A short punch on the throttle could cause it to crash in the roof, but due to the performance of the minitri I had no problems looping and rolling the minitri inside hall. Outside in the flying fields making slow loops and rolls are no problems at all. The only disadvantage a tricopter has versus a quad (in my view) is the strength of the servo gears.

@GAntonjo Thank you so much! I appreciate the feedback. Decisions, decisions, decisions…

JRach
    Participant