Home Forums Everything about the Tricopter V4 Beginner questions

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    michielvw
    Participant

Hi!

i’ve been flying a syma x5c for a while now, it’s a dirt cheap quadcopter but it’s great to get te hang of flying multirotors and it’s almost indestructable!

Anyway… i’m planning on buying davids tricopter for a while now to get into some real rc flying. My plan is to build it with wooden booms first and replace them later when i’m getting more the hang of it.
    I’m doubting between the normal and speed setup, i don’t care i will get some less flight time and i won’t have much benefit at the start since i’m a beginner. I know i will appreciate the extra speed and don’t feel like buying two sets of motors over time.
    Anyone some advice?

Secondly: anyone some advice for a propbalancer?

Third and last: i’m planning on securing the NTM motor on the wooden booms using zipties (suprise suprice!) on the NTM mounting set. Does anyone know if the mounting set is strong enough so it doesn’t bend on a crash? otherwise i’ll have to buy multiple.

Thanks!

coolblaze19
    Participant

Honestly for what you want to do wooden booms would be pointless, the reason being that for wooden booms there strength is like 1000 times less then the carbon so if you are really gonna bang it around the wood is just a pointless hassle. Maybe you could do the wood for a flight or two but beyond that stick with the carbon fiber.

As far as the mounts go they haven’t bent for me so far.

Get the dubro prop balancer: http://hobby.dubro.com/videos/tech-tip-videos/du-bro-tru-spin-prop-balancer-2_21
    Best one I’ve tried so far.

Hmm it could be a bit tricky mounting the ntm’s using zip-ties, but definitely doable. It’s important that the motors can’t flex, if they can they will at one point get into oscillations and fly off (don’t ask me how I know)

nbpicklesno2
    Participant

Wood is good. Cheap, light, strong, available….