Home Forums Everything about the Mini Tricopter Mini tri ok for first mini?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Spartan
    Participant

Ok so I’ve been drooling over the mini tri.

I have the full sized V3 and am pretty confident with it although badly out of practice lately and I am only just starting to FPV.

I was thinking of building a 250 quad as my friend has one and they seem to be a lot more durable than the V3. Every time I crash the V3 I seem to be replacing the wire mount plates or a boom or tilt and I’m getting a bit over having to wait for 3 weeks every time I need to order something (and the cost is starting to mount up!).

So my question is: would the mini tri be as durable as a 250 quad? I was actually considering the HMB-235 and I know the mini wouldn’t be as strong as this, but I’m a noob and won’t be racing – I’m more after something to have a bit more fun with as the V3 is a bit limited.

Terje

You must never deviate from the path of the Tricopter! 🙂

The mini is quite fun and I haven’t flown my mini quads since building it.

That said, it is slightly more fragile (tilt) than a standard mini quad – but I have yet to damage anything other that the front motor on a really hard impact. Bending the internal shaft could be done with a quad as well. (Breaking my own custom tilt and canopy doesn’t count)

In my opinion, it is not one or the other. I would get a ZMR250 with some DYS1806 2300Kv motors and ZTW Spider 12A ESCs and a Flip32+ board to practice on, then move on to the mini tricopter once the quad becomes boring?

Spartan
    Participant

Ha ha you are most wise Terje-san!

I did think about a cheap ZMR250 style quad but then again I would probably spend more on building that than replacing broken parts on a mini tri.

Would you agree with me that the V3 has a few weak points and is a bit fragile, or have I just been a bit unlucky?

LeoTheHuman
    Participant