Home Forums Everything about the Tricopter V4 Which Transmitter?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    mcan
    Participant

Hey! I am a beginner and I want to build the Tricopter V3. Which transmitter would you recommend me that I can use later for FPV as well.
    Thanks!

coolblaze19
    Participant

Hobbyking-transmitters
    Orange tx/rx, nice combo but its only 6 channels could prohibit you later the, pretty cheap for what you get.
    Turnigy 9x- this is a really good radio seeing you can change the modules which gives you room to grow with the 9 channels, also the lcd has a lot of features so you can add telemetry with the right module.
    Taranis- really solid radio that you can rely on, pretty much the same as the 9x just better quality.
    Spektrum
    Dx6e- nice radio but again only six channels.
    Dx8e- starting to get pricey around the $400 dollar mark and you pretty much get a turnigy 9x with less channels
    Gruponer(not how you spell it)-
    Mz-12- this company is nice because they all have telemetry from the start and are cheaper than spektrum for the same thing this one is 6 channel the mz-18 is 9 channel what ever you pocket change can handle is what id get.

Robert C
    Participant

A transmitter is something you should invest in, I did not, and now I have to buy a new one, again..

FrSKy Taranis is a really nice radio, or something like the Futaba 8J. It also comes down to preference in brand.

How many channels do you need? 6 is enough to fly the tricopter, but the second you ad something to it (video switch or whatever) you need more.

7-8 should last you long enough, more is only needed for scale applications, like airplanes with flaps, retractable gear, bomb drop etc.

Remember that you are putting your tricopter in the air with Gopro and other expensive stuff, so when it all comes crashing down because you used a bad/cheap radio you will be driving your head into a wall to express your emotions 😉

mcan